First Degree
Sexual Assault
Defense

CONTACT US NOW FOR A FREE CONSULTATION
Class B Misdemeanor Defense Attorneys in CT

Connecticut Sexual Assault in the First Degree Defense Attorneys

Providing Aggressive Defense for People Facing Serious Criminal Matters

If you or someone you love has been accused of sexual assault in Connecticut, it’s important to get help from an experienced criminal defense law firm as soon as you can. At Duffy Law, we’ve protected the rights of many people facing serious allegations in Connecticut criminal court, and we’re sure that we can help you get the best results in your case. Please call us so we can get started on your case today.

“Sexual assault” is a term used in Connecticut law to refer to many different types of acts. Sexual assault can be charged in the first, second, third, or fourth degree depending on the specific accusations against you. The most serious of these charges is sexual assault in the first degree, which can be a Class A or Class B felony, depending on the circumstances.

Anyone convicted of sexual assault in the first degree is at risk of spending an extended period behind bars. Fortunately, a conviction for this offense is not predetermined, and there are many ways that our experienced criminal defense lawyers can defend against these charges and protect your rights. We fully understand the criminal laws in Connecticut and the ins and outs of the complicated criminal justice system. Don’t hesitate to contact us for a free discussion about your situation.

When Can You be Convicted of First-Degree Sexual Assault in Connecticut?

To convict someone of sexual assault in the first degree under Connecticut law, a prosecutor must prove that one of the following acts occurred:

  • Sexual intercourse was compelled by a use of force
  • Sexual intercourse was compelled by the threat of force that caused reasonable fear of force in the victim
  • Sexual intercourse with a person who is unable to consent due to mental incapacitation
  • Sexual intercourse with a minor under age 13 when the accused is more than two years older than the victim

In addition, someone can be charged with aggravated sexual assault in the first degree if they’re accused of committing any of the above offenses along with one of the following circumstances:

  • Uses a deadly weapon, threatens to use or displays such a weapon, or otherwise alludes to the fact that they have a weapon
  • Intentionally causes serious or permanent disfiguring or disabling injuries
  • Causes serious injury or risk of death to the victim while displaying an extreme and reckless indifference to human life
  • Is accompanied by two or more people who are present and aid in the sexual assault

Whether you are charged with sexual assault or aggravated sexual assault, your priority should be finding the right law firm to help you.

Possible Penalties for a Conviction

The possible sentence you can face in a first-degree sexual assault case will depend on different factors, including the age of the victim, whether aggravating factors are alleged, and whether you agree to a plea bargain. The following are the possible penalties depending on your charge:

  • Class A felony Imprisonment for 10 to 25 years, $20,000 fine
  • Class B felonyImprisonment for one to 20 years, $20,000 fine

Some sexual assault convictions come with mandatory prison sentences that cannot be suspended. However, in many cases, our attorneys can negotiate a favorable plea bargain that may allow you to avoid prison time or have a significantly shorter sentence. It is important to be aware of the possible implications of pleading guilty. We will carefully review your options with you.

Another important consideration in sexual assault cases is the requirement to register as a sex offender if you are convicted. Sex offender registration may be lifelong and will make your personal information and criminal history available to the public online. Having a sex offense conviction can also limit your professional opportunities. We will help you weigh your legal options to make the best decision in your case.

Defenses to Sexual Assault Charges

Many people accused of sexual assault may believe that the outcome of their case is predetermined. However, this is not the case and all defendants are presumed innocent until proven guilty. Our attorneys will identify all relevant legal defenses to your charges and present them in the most effective manner. While the defenses will vary in each case, the following are some common defenses against sexual assault allegations:

  • ConsentProving that the victim consented to the sexual intercourse. This is one of the most common defenses in a sexual assault case and can be challenging to prove, as evidence of consent is generally circumstantial.
  • AlibiProving that you were at another place at the time of the assault and, therefore, you couldn’t have been the person who committed the assault.
  • Mental diseaseProving that you should not be held accountable for your acts because you didn’t understand the wrongful nature of them due to a mental defect or disease. Voluntary intoxication, however, cannot be claimed as a defense in sexual assault cases.
  • Insufficient evidenceDemonstrating that the prosecutor cannot prove all elements of the crime beyond a reasonable doubt and, therefore, you should not be convicted of the offense. If this defense is available in your case, we will present as much evidence as possible to call the prosecutor’s case into question to create reasonable doubt.

Learn How Our Connecticut Criminal Defense Attorneys Can Help You

While having the help of a highly qualified criminal defense lawyer is important for any type of case, it is critical if you’ve been accused of a serious felony offense such as sexual assault in the first degree. The team at Duffy Law knows how to represent people facing all types of charges – from DUI to violent felonies. We’re here to be at your side during this stressful and frightening process. We’ll always fight for your best interests. If you’re facing criminal charges in Connecticut state court or are suspected of committing a crime, please don’t wait. Call our office at 203-946-2000. It’s never too early to begin protecting your rights in a criminal investigation, arrest, or case.

CONTACT DUFFY LAW

How Can We Help?

REQUIRED*

Enter either your email or your phone depending on how you would like to be contacted.



Arrow TO GET HELP NOW, CALL (203) 946-2000

Home Icon

Our Address:

Duffy Law, LLC
770 Chapel Street, Suite 4F
New Haven, CT 06510

Phone Icon

Our Contact Info:

Phone: (203) 946-2000
FAX: 203.907.1383
Email: inquiry@duffylawct.com

© Copyright 2015 Duffy Law, LLC        |       

Law Pay
 
Share This